DCSS Names TOTY Semifinalists

DCSS Names Six TOTY Semifinalists
Posted on 08/21/2023
As a testament to unwavering dedication and outstanding contributions to education, six remarkable teachers from the Douglas County School System were recognized as semifinalists for the DCSS Teacher of the Year (TOTY) award on August 10. Last spring, all 34 schools named a TOTY. These 34 teachers attended an informational meeting in May and completed an extensive application over the spring and summer. Then, a panel of judges composed of community leaders and former educators read and scored each application, with the top six scores being named as the District’s TOTY Semifinalists. 

Last Thursday, these six teachers were surprised in their classrooms by DCSS Superintendent Trent North and other district administrators to present them with the distinguished honor of being a TOTY semifinalist. 

Upon receiving the honor of being named a semifinalist, many teachers expressed their gratitude, while others said that they were honored to receive the recognition. 

Next, the semifinalists will undergo classroom observations before participating in interviews with the panel of judges. Three finalists and the district-wide TOTY will be named at the TOTY celebration on September 28 at the new Alexander High School Performing Arts Center. The system-wide TOTY will also advance to compete in the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition later this year. 

Congratulations to these six exceptional educators for being named DCSS’ TOTY Semifinalists. 

Elementary School
Jennifer Waits, South Douglas Elementary School
Julie Buff, Winston Elementary School

Middle School
Shemeria Hatcher, Chapel Hill Middle School
Chelsea Montford, Stewart Middle School

High School
Jacqueline Roth, FLEX Academy
Teresa Wellmaker, Douglas County High School

Julie Buff, WES TOTYJennifer Waits, SDES TOTYChelsea Montford, SMS TOTYShemeria Hatcher, CHMS TOTYJacqueline Roth, FLEX TOTY
Teresa Wellmaker, DCHS TOTY
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.