AHS Future Educators

AHS Hosts Annual Signing Day to Celebrate Future Educators
Posted on 05/09/2024
In a world where the value of education cannot be overstated, recognizing and celebrating those who choose to dedicate their lives to shaping young minds is crucial. At Alexander High School, this celebration takes the form of the annual Future Educators Signing Day, which was started in 2020 by passionate educator Brooke Morris.

This year’s event took place Tuesday at Alexander’s Performing Arts Center. The celebration is part of Georgia Future Educators Signing Day, which is held each year during Teacher Appreciation Week.

This year's signees—Hannah Timms, Cadence House, Elaine Parker, Abigail Arnold, Eliza Douglas, and Perla Castanon-Contreras—were bestowed with special stoles to wear at graduation, symbolizing their commitment to the noble profession of teaching. Additionally, they received teacher clipboards, a practical tool to accompany them on their educational journey.

One of the most touching aspects of the event is the Golden Apple Award, where each student selects a teacher who has made a significant impact on their lives and honors them for their dedication and inspiration. Teachers honored included Morris, Holly Perry, Jackie Crawford, Nicole Benefield, Molly Alexander and Angelia Jordan.

The event also featured distinguished guests, including school board member Glenn Easterwood, who delivered words of encouragement to the aspiring educators.

Representatives from the University of West Georgia (UWG), including Cindy Saxon, were also in attendance, providing students with tokens of encouragement and support as they embark on their higher education journey.

The event was also attended by a host of esteemed guests, including DCSS Executive Director of CTAE Tekmekia Gilchrist, Alexander High School Principal Lora McAdams, assistant principals, the CTAE supervisor, the Work-Based Learning coordinator, mentor teachers, impactful educators, and proud friends and family members of the signees.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.